Republic of South Ossetia is located оn the southern slopes of the Main Caucasus Range in the area of 3900 square meters. Тhe capital is the city of Tskhinval.
One-tenth of the surface occupied by the Republic of the foothills.
The rest of the territory - the mountainous terrain height from 850 to 3938 meters above sea level.
The highest point - Mount Halatsa (3938 m).

Commentary of the Republic of South Ossetia Foreign Ministry representative concerning the reaction of number of states on presidential elections in South Ossetia

Printer-friendly version

As it was earlier informed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, on the 8th of April 2012 the people of South Ossetia elected the President of state in full accordance with the Constitution of Republic and election legislation. However, some countries, particularly Azerbaijan, Georgia and US made statements of considering Presidential elections in South Ossetia “illegal”.

Such reaction was quite predictable and distressed nobody in South Ossetia. To make some conclusions it is necessary at least to follow the course of voting but none of “concerning of legitimacy of elections in South Ossetia” states never pleased to send its representatives and make documentary motivated outputs.

43 international observers from five countries were monitoring the election process in South Ossetia and were vocal in confirming of transparency of presidential elections and its full accordance with international standards.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia considers statements of acknowledgement elections illegal as unfounded and politically committed and not squared with reality and also as an attempt to level the democratic development of political institutions in South Ossetia.

Eventuated on April 8, 2012 presidential elections became one more confirmation of stability of political processes based on having in South Ossetia democratic traditions and international norms and proved adherence of its people to strengthening and further development of democratic institutions of the Republic of South Ossetia.

Tskhinval, April 13, 2012