Republic of South Ossetia is located оn the southern slopes of the Main Caucasus Range in the area of 3900 square meters. Тhe capital is the city of Tskhinval.
One-tenth of the surface occupied by the Republic of the foothills.
The rest of the territory - the mountainous terrain height from 850 to 3938 meters above sea level.
The highest point - Mount Halatsa (3938 m).

Комментарии МИД РЮО

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia to South Ossetia International Information Agency

Q: Could you please comment on the situation around conditions of the arrival of Julietto Kieza, a famous Italian journalist and political figure, to the Republic of South Ossetia.


A: That’s right. Upon invitation from one of the political parties of the Republic, Mr. Kieza arrived to Tskhinval on January 23, 2017. Unfortunately, he faced certain problems while crossing the state border of the Republic of South Ossetia, as the receiving party had ignored the legal requirements pertaining to the entry procedures for foreign citizens arriving to the Republic of South Ossetia. The problem was solved rather fast, however the hosting party didn’t miss out the opportunity and tried to overblow a political scandal and shuffle off the responsibility for consequences of an incident that became a result of disrespect for the legislation of your own country to the MFA.

Comment of Alan Kochiev, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

A regular session of the OSCE Council of Ministers took place in Hamburg on December 8-9, 2016. The session saw a group of states-friends of Georgia circulating a statement containing appeals to Russia to call back recognition of the Republic of South Ossetia and the Republic of Abkhazia, appeals for “peaceful solution of the conflict” and reorganizing in Georgia “a full-scale OSCE mission”.

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

November 24, 2016 saw the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia publishing another quarterly report “on the Human Rights Situation in the Occupied Regions of Georgia”, covering this time the period from July to September of the current year.


The document differs slightly form previous “reports” and completely corresponds to Georgian logic of deliberately creating negative images of states neighboring to Georgia – the Republic of South Ossetia and the Republic of Abkhazia.

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

Pertaining to “Legendy armii” program (Zvezda TV) dated November 15, 2016 dedicated to Unus-Bek Evkurov, Head of Ingushetia

We consider it necessary that serious attention should be drawn at another attempt of rewriting historical facts related to aggravation of Ossetian-Ingush conflict in autumn 1992 that were made on Russian channel “Zvezda” in program “Legends of army with Alexander Marshal”, dedicated to Mr. Evkurov, Head of the Republic of Ingushetia. Exceptionally insulting for the Ossetian wordings was used in the program. There were obvious history facts travesty and aspiration to shift responsibility for victims, destructions and shattered confidence between neighboring states on Ossetian party.

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

Pertaining to a statement made by Leonid Kalashnikov, Russian State Duma member

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

The published information about the meeting of official delegation of the Georgian Patriarchy with James Appathurai, NATO Secretary General's Special Representative for the Caucasus and Central Asia, where as Metropolitan Andrew of Gori and Ateni stated, “the difficult situation in Abkhazia and Samachablo” had been discussed, wasn’t left without attention in South Ossetia.

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

October 13, 2016 saw a meeting of the autumn plenary session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) where in his speech about human rights execution over Europe Frank-Walter-Steinmeier, the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office and German Foreign Minister, expressed his opinion about South Ossetia and in terms of observing the situation of human rights called the state a “grey zone” and a “black hole”.

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

Statements on Russia-South Ossetia relations made by Vladimir Zhirinovsky at a press-conference organized in the press center of TASS on September 14 were not left without attention in South Ossetia. In particular he declared that “the position of the LDPR is not to help anybody, any republics, anywhere … Let them develop themselves, not by means of Russia, or let them become a part of Russia or let them return to some other region”.

Comment of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

September 8, 2016 saw members of the House of Representatives of the U.S. Congress adopting by an absolute majority the Resolution (H. Res. 660) which contained not only the mythical and abstract theses about “the territorial integrity” and “occupation of Georgian regions” by Russia but also an appeal to give Georgia “opportunities for defense”.

Comment of Murat Dzhioev, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia pertaining to the 7th Anniversary of recognition of South Ossetia’s Independence by the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela

imgonline-com-ua-2to1-ldqws6lzdl1r.jpg

September 10, 2009 saw the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela recognizing the independence of the Republic of South Ossetia that became an important political event in political life of our young Republic. Venezuela is the third country that followed the example of Russia and Nicaragua and made such a responsible and significant for us decision despite the difficulties the country was facing at that time. People of South Ossetia will always be thankful to the Venezuelan party for that.

На южных склонах Главного Кавказского хребта на площади 3900 кв. км. расположена Республика Южная Осетия (столица - город Цхинвал).
Десятую часть поверхности Республики занимают предгорья.
Остальная же территория - гористая местность высотой от 850 до 3938 метров над уровнем моря.
Самая высокая точка - гора Халаца (3938 м.).

Комментарии МИД РЮО

Комментарий представителя Министерства иностранных дел РЮО МИА «Южная Осетия»

Вопрос: Прокомментируйте, пожалуйста, ситуацию относительно обстоятельств приезда в Республику Южная Осетия известного итальянского журналиста и политического деятеля Джульетто Кьеза


Ответ: Действительно, 23 января господин Кьеза прибыл в Цхинвал по приглашению одной из парламентских политических партий. К сожалению, этому предшествовали некоторые проблемы при пересечении господином Кьеза Государственной границы Республики Южная Осетия, поскольку принимающая сторона проигнорировала требования законодательства Республики относительно порядка въезда иностранных граждан на территорию РЮО. Ситуация была достаточно быстро разрешена, однако, приглашающая сторона не упустила возможность попытаться раздуть на ровном месте политический скандал и переложить на МИД последствия инцидента, ставшего результатом собственного неуважения к законодательству своей страны.

Комментарий заместителя Министра иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия А.К. Кочиева

В ходе очередного заседания Совета министров ОБСЕ, проходившего 8-9 декабря в Гамбурге, от имени Группы стран - друзей Грузии было распространено заявление, призывающее Россию к отзыву признания Республики Южная Осетия и Республики Абхазия, к «мирному урегулированию конфликта в Грузии», выводу «вооруженных соединений с оккупированных территорий» и возобновлению присутствия в Грузии «полноценной миссии ОБСЕ».

Комментарий Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

24 ноября 2016 года МИД Грузии опубликовало очередной ежеквартальный отчет «о ситуации по правам человека на оккупированных территориях», на этот раз охватывающий период с июля по сентябрь текущего года.


Документ практически не отличим от предыдущих «отчетов» и полностью соответствует грузинской логике искусственного создания негативного представления о соседних с Грузией государствах – Республике Южная Осетия и Республике Абхазия.

Комментарий пресс-службы Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

Относительно программы «Легенды армии» телеканала «Звезда» от 15 ноября 2016 года, посвященной главе Ингушетии Юнус-Беку Евкурову

Считаем необходимым обратить самое серьезное внимание на очередную попытку фальсификации исторических фактов, относящихся к событиям обострения осетино-ингушского конфликта осенью 1992 года, имевшую место в программе российского телеканала «Звезда» «Легенды армии с Александром Маршалом», посвященной Главе Республики Ингушетия г-ну Евкурову. В передаче были использованы крайне оскорбительные для осетин формулировки, налицо явное искажение исторических фактов, стремление вновь переложить ответственность за жертвы, разрушения и подорванное доверие между соседними народами на осетинскую сторону.

Комментарий Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

В связи с заявлением депутата ГД ФС РФ Л. Калашникова

В Южной Осетии с удивлением ознакомились с высказываниями депутата Государственной Думы Российской Федерации Леонида Калашникова в интервью «РИА Новости» от 16 ноября 2016 года, где он заявил, что «… если Молдова достигнет разрешения своего территориального конфликта – в Приднестровье, решив его по типу конфедерации, в то же время будет развивать отношения с Россией, то это калька для решения (конфликта) в Грузии и Украине».

Комментарий представителя Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

Обратили внимание на публикации в СМИ о встрече официальной делегации патриархии Грузии со специальным представителем Генерального секретаря НАТО на Южном Кавказе и Центральной Азии Джеймсом Аппатураем, в ходе которой, как отметил митрополит Гори и Атени Андрей, обсуждалось «сложное положение в Абхазии и Самачабло».

Комментарий представителя Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

13 октября на пленарном заседании осенней сессии ПАСЕ Министр иностранных дел Германии, действующий председатель ОБСЕ Франк-Вальтер Штайнмайер в своем выступлении о ситуации с правами человека на пространстве Европы высказал мнение о Южной Осетии, охарактеризовав ее с точки зрения наблюдения за правами человека «серой зоной» и «черной дырой».

Комментарий представителя Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

В Южной Осетии не остались незамеченными заявления В.В. Жириновского о российско-югоосетинских отношениях, высказанные 14 сентября на пресс-конференции в пресс-центре ТАСС. В частности, он заявил, что «позиция ЛДПР — никому не помогать, никаких республик, нигде… Либо сами пусть развиваются, не за счет российских средств, либо пусть входят в состав России или пусть возвращаются в другой какой-то регион».

Комментарий Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

8 сентября Палата представителей Конгресса США абсолютным большинством приняла Резолюцию 660, в которой помимо совершенно оторванных от реальности мифических тезисов о «территориальной целостности» и «оккупации регионов Грузии» со стороны России содержится, в том числе, призыв предоставить Грузии "возможности для обороны".

Комментарий Министра иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия М.К. Джиоева в связи с 7-ой годовщиной признания Республики Южная Осетия Боливарианской Республикой Венесуэла

imgonline-com-ua-2to1-ldqws6lzdl1r.jpg

10 сентября 2009 года государственную независимость Республики Южная Осетия признала Боливарианская Республика Венесуэла, что явилось важным политическим событием в жизни нашей молодой Республики. Венесуэла – третья страна, которая вслед за Россией и Никарагуа приняла столь ответственное и важное для нас решение в непростое для себя время, за что народ Южной Осетии всегда будет благодарен Венесуэльской Стороне.