Republic of South Ossetia is located оn the southern slopes of the Main Caucasus Range in the area of 3900 square meters. Тhe capital is the city of Tskhinval.
One-tenth of the surface occupied by the Republic of the foothills.
The rest of the territory - the mountainous terrain height from 850 to 3938 meters above sea level.
The highest point - Mount Halatsa (3938 m).

Archive - 2013

December 31st

Interview of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia David Sanakoev to Informational Agency ‘Res’

sanakoev.jpg

- Tell us about achievements of the MFA in 2013?


- In 2013 Ministry of Foreign Affairs carried out its activities according to Constitution of Republic of South Ossetia, legislation, norms and standards of the Republic. The main direction of the Ministry’s activities is development and realization of a common foreign policy of Republic of South Ossetia, determined by President of RSO. These tasks are entrusted to MFA by Provisions “On Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia”, Decree of President of Republic of South Ossetia “On coordinating role of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia in realization of a common foreign policy of Republic of South Ossetia” from 27 April 2005. In 2013 it has been 5 years from the date of recognition of the sovereignty of South Ossetia by Russia. In that sense 2013 is a special year for South Ossetia. President Leonid Tibilov in his address to the nation and parliament on 30 April 2013 confirmed that the main strategic partner of South Ossetia is Russia. Therefore, further development and extension of friendly ties with Russian Federation is a priority for us.

Announcement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia

On 31 December 2013 President of Republic of South Ossetia Tibilov Leonid Kharitonovich issued a decree to release citizen of Georgia Jeparov Teimuraz Savelevich, sentenced in 2010 to 13 years of imprisonment by Supreme Court of Republic of South Ossetia as per article 278 of Criminal Code of RF.

December 19th

Announcement of the delegation of South Ossetia for mass-media

On 26-th round of Geneva Discussions on Security and Stability in Transcaucasia

Another round of Geneva Discussions of Security and Stability in Transcaucasia took place in Geneva on 17-18 December 2013. At the session participated representatives of Republic of South Ossetia, Republic of Abkhazia, Georgia, Russian Federation, United States as well as representatives of the EU, UN, OSCE. Delegation of South Ossetia was headed by Presidential Envoy on post conflict resolution M. K. Jioev.

December 12th

Interview of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia David Sanakoev to newspaper ‘South Ossetia’

sanakoev.jpg

- During the summit on Eastern partnership in Vilnius, Georgia initialed agreement on association with the EU, final signing is planned for next year but they already announced plans on economic involvement of South Ossetia and Abkhazia into joint projects between European Union and Georgia. Above that, during the last year and a half, particularly after assumption of office by the Georgian Dream, representatives of international organizations and some politically committed Russian experts more and more often find it necessary to depoliticize issues between RSO and Georgia and start rebuilding relations in economic and humanitarian spheres. How is South Ossetia going to build its foreign policy, considering these factors, and how South Ossetia is going to react on the attempts of its involvement into economic and humanitarian projects with Georgia?


- We never had doubts that Georgia would not change its strategic direction and goals in respect of South Ossetia. They of course use all available leverages that to captivate RSO and place it under command by all means.

December 7th

Condolences of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia in connection with the death of Nelson Mandela

mandela.jpeg

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia D. Sanakoev sent a telegram with condolences to the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of Republic of South Africa Ms. Maite Nkoana-Mashabane in connection with the death of Nelson Mandela.


“Deeply regret about the death of His Excellency Mr. Nelson Mandela and would like to express our condolences to people of South Africa in connection with this loss.

December 4th

Commentary of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of South Ossetia

Decision of the Government of Russian Federation on exclusion of South Ossetia from the list of hazardous countries for diplomats confirms again that situation in South Ossetia is stable and secure both for citizens of the Republic and for foreigners.


A big contribution to security and stability in the region is made by Russian military contingent that is fulfilling its mission on the bases of bilateral agreements.

December 1st

Announcement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

1st December 2013 is the 5th anniversary since the date of signing of the Decree on establishment and functioning of the Embassy of Republic of South Ossetia in Russian Federation.


Diplomatic service is not an easy thing to do. It always meant readiness to work hard for the sake of the country, urge for permanent self-improvement, implied analytical mentality and spacious scope, ability to make decisions in complex situations.

November 26th

Announcement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

On 26 November 2013 Republic of South Ossetia was visited by Co-chairmen of Geneva Discussions on security and stability in Transcaucasia. The delegation met in Tskhinval with participants of Geneva Discussions from South Ossetian side headed by Presidential Envoy on post conflict resolution Murat Jioev.


During the meeting were discussed issues related to preparation of the next round of Geneva Discussions scheduled for 17-18 December 2013.

November 15th

Announcement of the press-service of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia

mkkk_2.jpg

On 15 November 2013 Minister of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia David Sanakoev received Head of the Office of the International Committee of Red Cross in South Ossetia Ms. Valentina Kim.


During the meeting the sides discussed issues related to Red Cross activities on the territory of Republic of South Ossetia during the last months.

The recent tripartite meeting on those missing in action was also touched on. The sides had an opinion exchange on a range of issues of mutual interest.

D. Sanakoev thanked the ICRC Head for the meeting and noted the longstanding fruitful work of the ICRC in South Ossetia. The meeting participants expressed their readiness for further coordinated activities and open cooperation.


Tskhinval, 15 November 2013

November 14th

Interview of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Republic of South Ossetia David Sanakoev to Informational Agency ‘Res’

sanakoev.jpeg

- What are the current priorities of the MFA’ work ?


- The main priority in our foreign-policy activities is insuring a well-deserved place for Republic of South Ossetia in the world. However, success in foreign-policy work is closely connected with dynamic development of the state itself, therefore we should make everything possible to improve the image Republic of South Ossetia and make it as attractive as possible for building up wider relations with other countries of the International Community.

На южных склонах Главного Кавказского хребта на площади 3900 кв. км. расположена Республика Южная Осетия (столица - город Цхинвал).
Десятую часть поверхности Республики занимают предгорья.
Остальная же территория - гористая местность высотой от 850 до 3938 метров над уровнем моря.
Самая высокая точка - гора Халаца (3938 м.).

Archive - 2013

Декабрь 31st

Интервью Министра иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия Д.Г. Санакоева ИА «Рес»

sanakoev.jpg

- Расскажите об основных достижениях МИД Южной Осетии в уходящем году?


- Министерство иностранных дел в 2013 году продолжало свою деятельность в соответствии с Конституцией Республики Южная Осетия, законодательством и нормативно-правовой базой Республики. Основным направлением деятельности Министерства иностранных дел является разработка общей стратегии внешней политики Республики Южная Осетия и реализация внешнеполитического курса нашего государства, определяемого Президентом РЮО. Эти задачи возложены на МИД в соответствии с Положением «О Министерстве иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия», с Указом Президента Республики Южная Осетия «О координирующей роли Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия в проведении единой внешней политики Республики Южная Осетия» от 27 апреля 2005 года. В 2013 году исполнилось 5 лет со дня признания Россией суверенитета Южной Осетии. В этом смысле 2013 год - особенный для Южной Осетии. Президент Леонид Тибилов в своем послании к народу и Парламенту от 30 апреля 2013 года подтвердил, что главным и стратегическим партнером для Южной Осетии является Россия. Поэтому дальнейшее развитие и углубление дружественных отношений с Российской Федерацией – приоритетное направление в нашей работе.

Заявление Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

31 декабря 2013 года Президент Республики Южная Осетия Тибилов Леонид Харитонович издал Указ о помиловании гражданина Грузии Джерапова Теймураза Савельевича, осужденного в 2010 году Верховным Судом Республики Южная Осетия по статье 278 УК РФ и приговоренного к 13 годам лишения свободы.

Декабрь 19th

Сообщение Югоосетинской делегации для средств массовой информации

О 26-ом раунде Женевских дискуссий по вопросам безопасности и стабильности в Закавказье

17-18 декабря 2013 года в Женеве состоялся очередной раунд Женевских дискуссий по безопасности и стабильности в Закавказье. Во встрече приняли участие представители Республики Южная Осетия, Республики Абхазия, Грузии, Российской Федерации, США, а также представители ЕС, ООН и ОБСЕ. Югоосетинскую делегацию возглавлял Полномочный представитель Президента по вопросам постконфликтного урегулирования М.К. Джиоев.

Декабрь 12th

Интервью Министра иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия Д.Г. Санакоева газете «Южная Осетия»

sanakoev.jpg

- В ходе саммита «Восточного партнерства» в Вильнюсе Грузия парафировала соглашение об ассоциации с ЕС, окончательное подписание планируется на будущий год, но уже сейчас анонсируются планы по экономическому вовлечению Южной Осетии и Абхазии в совместные проекты Евросоюза и Грузии. Кроме того, со стороны представителей международных организаций, а также отдельных ангажированных российских экспертов за последние полтора года, особенно после прихода к власти в Грузии «Грузинской мечты», все чаще звучат заявления о том, что необходимо деполитизировать решение вопросов между РЮО и Грузией и начать восстановление отношений с экономической и гуманитарных сфер. Каким образом Южная Осетия намерена выстраивать свою внешнюю политику с учетом этих факторов и как планирует реагировать на попытки втянуть ее в различные экономические и гуманитарные проекты с Грузией?


- У нас никогда не было сомнений в том, что Грузия поменяет свое стратегическое направление и цели в отношении Южной Осетии. Здесь они, конечно же, используют все рычаги, которые помогут им захватить РЮО, подчинить ее с помощью различных средств.

Декабрь 7th

Соболезнование Министра иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия Давида Санакоева в связи с кончиной Нельсона Манделы

mandela.jpeg

Министр иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия Д.Санакоев направил телеграмму соболезнования Министру иностранных дел Южно-Африканской Республики М. Нкоана-Машабане в связи с кончиной Нельсона Манделы.


«Глубоко опечален известием о кончине Его Превосходительства Нельсона Манделы. В этот скорбный час хотел бы передать мои искренние глубочайшие соболезнования правительству и народу Южной Африки в связи с этой тяжелой утратой.

Декабрь 4th

Комментарий Министра иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия Д.Г. Санакоева

Решение Правительства Российской Федерации об исключении Южной Осетии из списка стран с трудными условиями для дипломатов, еще раз подтверждает, что ситуация в Южной Осетии стабильная и безопасная как для граждан Республики, так и для иностранных граждан.

Декабрь 1st

Сообщение Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

1 декабря 2013 года исполняется 5 лет со дня подписания Указа об учреждении и функционировании Посольства Республики Южная Осетия в Российской Федерации.


Дипломатическая служба – это нелегкий выбор профессии, который всегда означал готовность к напряженной работе на благо своей страны, стремление к постоянному самосовершенствованию, предполагал аналитический склад ума и разносторонний кругозор, умение принимать решения в непростых ситуациях.

Ноябрь 26th

Сообщение Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

zheneva_0.jpg

26 ноября 2013 года Республику Южная Осетия с рабочим визитом посетили сопредседатели Женевских дискуссий по безопасности в Закавказье. Делегация встретилась в Цхинвале с участниками Женевских дискуссий от Южной Осетии во главе с Полномочным представителем Президента по вопросам постконфликтного урегулирования Муратом Джиоевым.

Ноябрь 24th

Соглашение между Правительством Республики Южная Осетия и Правительством Российской Федерации о сотрудничестве в области оказания специализированной, в том числе высокотехнологичной, медицинской помощи, включая лекарственное обеспечение

Правительство Республики Южная Осетия и Правительство Российской Федерации, именуемые в дальнейшем Сторонами,


в целях обеспечения сотрудничества в области оказания специализированной, в том числе высокотехнологичной, медицинской помощи, включая лекарственное обеспечение при ее оказании, гражданам Республики Южная Осетия и гражданам Российской Федерации,

учитывая необходимость повышения качества и доступности специализированной, в том числе высокотехнологичной,

Ноябрь 15th

Сообщение пресс-службы Министерства иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия

mkkk_2.jpg

15 ноября Министр иностранных дел Республики Южная Осетия Давид Санакоев принял Главу Представительства Международного Комитета Красного Креста в Южной Осетии Валентину Ким.


На встрече обсуждались вопросы, касающиеся деятельности Красного Креста на территории РЮО за последние месяцы. В частности, затрагивался вопрос о состоявшихся накануне трехсторонних встречах по поиску без вести пропавших лиц. Состоялся обмен мнениями по ряду вопросов, представляющих взаимный интерес.

Д. Санакоев поблагодарил Главу МККК за визит, отметив многолетнюю плодотворную работу МККК в Южной Осетии. Участники встречи выразили готовность к дальнейшим скоординированным действиям и открытому сотрудничеству.


Цхинвал, 15 ноября 2013 года